Artichoke Curry Rice Salad

During a recent visit to my husband’s home town, my mother in law made us a salad with rice and artichokes. I thought it was a fabulous idea, so when I got home, I tried a version of my own that reminds me of dinners from my childhood when I wasn’t vegan. Thanks for the inspiration, MiL, this was fabulous.

Screen Shot 2016-08-24 at 3.25.15 p

2 (14 oz) cans quartered artichoke hearts, drained and rinsed
1 cup crasins (or golden raisins)
1 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
1 diced red bell pepper
1 cup pepitas OR roasted walnuts, chopped
2-3 Tablespoons yellow curry powder
1 clove garlic, deveined
1/4 cup chopped green onion
1-3 tablespoons sweetener, to taste (I used agave. Date sugar, honey, or cane sugar would work, or use sweetened coconut)
1/4 teaspoon of salt, to taste
1 teaspoon crystallized ginger orange (True Orange powder)(optional)
1-3 Tablespoons Just Mayo (or veganaise or peanut butter)(optional)
4 cups cooked brown rice

Mix all ingredients except rice together until blended well in large bowl. Fold in cooked rice (can be warm). Refrigerate 2 hours or until time to eat. Serve with Sriracha on the table. Good with fresh fruit on the side. Serves 4 as a meal, up to 8 as a side. Keeps at least 4 days in the fridge, but you’re gonna want to eat it all before then.

About kathyrandall

United Methodist Pastor, North Carolinian, writer, cook, crafter, vegan, wife, mother, and lover of a good story.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment